Tomoki Akiyama | Paris National Conservatory of Music and Dance

Tomoki Akiyama, Fioriture I for alto saxophone and piano

Miho Akamada, sax
Tomoki Akiyama, piano

A note of intent from the composer:

Fioriture I Launched in 2018 for 18e The World Saxophone Congress in Croatia and its world premiere were given by Ryo Nakajima (saxophone) and Yuto Kiguchi (piano).

Ornaments It is originally an Italian word meaning “flowering”. “. In music, it designates a note or group of notes inserted, improvised, or written into a vocal or instrumental melody to embellish it.
A piece composed in 2018, 350e Tributes to François Couperin (1668-1733) on the anniversary of his birth. Budding lilies from his third book of harpsichord pieces (1722). Room thus based on a set of harmonic blocks (using quarter tones) extracted and rearranged from Cooper’s score. The elements that decorate it, such as trills, arpeggios, multiphonics and other special techniques, as well as various rhythmic patterns, are arranged in such a way as to create a sense of improvisation.

Born in 1992 in Aichi, Japan, Tomoki Akiyama studied composition at the University of Fine Arts and Music in Tokyo, where he received an MA under Ichiro Nodaira and won the Acanthus Prize (1).er price). His scores were performed at various concerts in Europe and Asia, and in 2014, his work was performed Remainder for orchestra It was premiered in Japan by the Tokyo Geidai Philharmonic Orchestra.
In 2019, he was admitted to the National Conservatory of Music and Dance in Paris (CNSMDP) for the piano accompaniment class and the chamber music class. There he followed the teachings of Jean-Frédéric Neuburger, Yumi Otsu, Fuminori Tanada, Valérie Aimard, Hae-Sun Kang… He also studied in the piano class of Michael Levinas at the Schola Cantorum.
He performs in chamber music, notably with the Toneseek Ensemble, the AKIYAMA Quartet, and as a soloist in Japan and abroad. He is also regularly invited to numerous festivals such as Festival Présences, ManiFeste, Suntory Summer Festival – among others, Ensemble REAM –, Art Respirant, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Orchestra Nipponica, Tokyo-Geidai Philharmonic Orchestra, New Philharmonic Orchestra of Japan…
Open to all forms of expression, Tomoki is involved in numerous creations and has collaborated with contemporary composers such as Tristan Murail, Kaija Saariaho, Philippe Manoury, Johannes Maria Staud, Rodolphe Bruneau-Boulmier, Éric Tanguy, Matthias Pintscher… Aoyama Foundation (2013), Japan Culture Jobs Agency (2020-21) and Meyer Foundation (2020-22) grants. Currently, he is an accompanist of the conducting class of the CNSMDP orchestra.

Miho Hakamada was born in Ichinomiya, Japan. He started playing the saxophone in the harmony orchestra at the age of 10 and took his first lesson at the age of 12. After receiving a Bachelor of Arts degree from Kobe University, he deepened his instrumental creativity by enriching his repertoire and continued to perform as a wind band during his studies.
He studied Erasmus in Arts and Letters at the University of Paris-Diderot, which led him to turn to musicology as a saxophonist. In 2017, he entered the Conservatoire National Supérieure Paris in the class of Claude Delangle, where he received a master’s degree in saxophone in 2022.
Supported by the Meyer Foundation and the Japan Agency for Cultural Affairs, he is currently pursuing a master’s degree in chamber music with the duo Lupinus (saxophone and piano, with Yume Takasaki) and Hae-Sun Kang. Generative improvisation of CNSMDP.
Miho unanimously won first prize at the 2017 Nantes International Competition. He is also the winner of Year 7.e In 2019, he performed as a soloist with the Belgian Chamber Orchestra at the International Adolphe-Sax Competition held in Dinant. Miho also gave recitals at the National Archives, the National Museum of Jean-Jacques Henner, the Concierge… She joined the Opera National de Paris at the Palais Garnier and La Roque d’Anthéron, the Grand Est’ival and the Young Talents.

Posted in Art

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *